
Burnt Mill 
Cave 

CONSERVATION AREA

About this Area
Burnt Mill Cave Conservation Area is in Camden 
County, 17 miles west of Camdenton and 3.2 
miles southeast of Climax Springs, off highway 7, 
on Kolb Hollow Road. The area includes over half 
a mile of the Little Niangua River and contains 
340 acres of oak-hickory woodlands and glades. 
Approximately 240 acres north of the river have 
been designated as the Little Niangua River 
Natural Area. This Natural Area contains over 50 
acres of dolomite glade habitat and includes 
a stretch of the Little Niangua River and Kolb 
Hollow Branch that support a diverse array of 
fish species, within the geographic range of the 
federally threatened, Missouri endemic, niangua 
darter and another Missouri endemic, the sad-
dled darter. 

Recreational Opportunities
Bird Watching – Fishing – Hiking – Hunting 
– Outdoor Photography – Wildlife Viewing

Rules and Regulations
Open for public use from 4:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.; 
hunting, fishing, trapping, camping, dog training, 
launching and landing canoes allowed 24 hours a 
day on areas where these activities are permitted.  

• Use of fireworks is prohibited.
• No horseback riding or bicycling opportunities 
except on public roadways.
• Any activity with groups of 10 or more needs a 
special use permit.  Contact area manager.
• Vehicles are only permitted on public roadways 
and in parking lots.
• Pets and hunting dogs are permitted but must 
be on a leash or confined at all times. Hunting 
dogs may be used off the leash and unconfined 
for hunting and training purposes.  Hunting per-
mit is required to train dogs in pursuit of wildlife.
• Digging of roots is prohibited on all Conserva-
tion areas.
• Nuts, berries, fruits, edible wild greens and 
mushrooms may be taken only for personal 
consumption.  

• Field trials are prohibited.

Fishing and Boating 
Fishing and frogging are permitted under statewide 
regulations. 

Hunting and Trapping
Area is open to hunting under statewide regulations.  
The following special regulations also apply.

• Statewide deer seasons and limits apply.
• Only portable stands are allowed from Sept. 
1 through Jan. 31. Unattended stands must be 
plainly labeled on a durable material with the full 
name and address or Conservation number of 
the owner and be removed from the area by Feb. 
1st. Use of nails, screw-in steps, and any material 
or method that would damage the tree is prohib-
ited.
• Trapping allowed only with special use permit. 
Contact area manager.
• Trail and game cameras are prohibited.
• For more information on deer and turkey hunt-
ing regulations, refer to the Fall Deer and Turkey 
Hunting and Spring Turkey Hunting summaries.

For local information, contact:
Missouri Department of Conservation

783 Thunder Mountain Road
Camdenton, MO 65020

(573) 346-2210

Visit us at:
www.missouriconservation.org
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(Regulations are from the Wildlife Code of Missouri and selected statutes of the State of Missouri. 
Special area regulations are in Chapter 11 of the Wildlife Code. A free printed copy of the Wildlife 
Code, which lists most area regulations, is available from the Conservation Department. Chapter 11 
in its entirety is available at www.sos.mo.gov/adrules/csr/current/3csr/3csr.asp.) Equal opportunity to 
participate in and benefit from programs of the Missouri Department of Conservation is available 
to all individuals without regard to their race, color, national origin, sex, age or disability. Questions 
should be directed to the Department of Conservation, P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102, 
(573) 751-4115 (voice) or 800-735-2966 (TTY), or to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Division 
of Federal Assistance, 4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop: MBSP-4020, Arlington, VA 22203.


